Kellie Kennedy named LSWA Coach of the Year


Kellie Kennedy coaches players during a timeout. Kennedy won the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Coach of the Year award on April 7. Photo credit: Courtesy of Loyola Athletics

Andres Fuentes

Women’s basketball head coach, Kellie Kennedy, was named Coach of the Year by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association for her monumental 2016-2017 season.

She bested LSU’s Nikki Fargas with a ballot of 12-5.

This is the second Coach of the Year award Kennedy has received this year for her historic season. She led the team to win its second conference regular season title as well as an appearance in the NAIA DI National Championship tournament for the fourth year in a row.

She was also named the winningest basketball coach in Loyola history this season and captured the most wins in program history with 25.

The LSWA also named Meghan Temple on the All-State Third Team and Zoie Miller received an All-State Honorable Mention.

Kennedy also won the SSAC Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year this past March.